自然本草療法

    

什么是本草療法?

一份稱為“世界衛生組織傳統醫學戰略”(2002-2005) 的報告指出:草藥等輔助藥物在發達國家廣受歡迎,有幾個促成因素。人們擔憂化學藥物的副作用,對對抗療法的假設和家長式的管制容忍度降低,並且要取得保健信息也越來越容易。世衛組織進一步指出,人類預期壽命越長,罹患癌症、糖尿病、精神和心臟病等慢性疾病的風險就越高。它承認西醫學對處理急性病和外傷確能發揮至關重要的作用,卻也強調在管理慢性疾病方面,西醫可能效果不彰。草藥等輔助醫學似乎為慢性疾病管理提供了一種溫和的方法,其適用性也與日俱增。

今天草藥是最古老卻仍然在世界上廣泛使用的藥物系統。這是專從植物製成的藥物。許多現代藥物是模仿、或依據從植物中發現的化學物質來製成。例如,二甲雙胍(Metformin),是治療糖尿病使用最廣泛的處方藥,其研製可追溯至一種叫山羊芸香的草藥,它至今仍然是草藥師用來治療相同病情的草藥。

在歐洲所謂的本草療法或草藥醫療,是自然療法類別中最具科學驗證的醫學。它起源於歐洲和希臘羅馬的傳統醫療,並可以一直追溯到著名醫生,如迪奥斯柯里德斯( D i o s c o r i d e s )、希波克拉底(Hippocrates)、 蓋倫(Galen) 及賓根的聖希爾德嘉德(St Hildegard of Bingen)。

今天本草療法是公認的現代化及擁有科學依據的草藥醫學。在德國和歐洲的許多地方、美國、新西蘭和澳大利亞,醫生、自然療法醫師和臨床草藥醫師都實行本草療法。

是否有很好的科學證據呢?

現代藥物學、化學、芳香學和植物學都建立在植物醫學的基礎上。事實上,許多合成藥物都來自於植物,或自然界中發現的相似化學物質。

此外,根據澳大利亞拉籌伯大學某個大規模的研究(由維多利亞州民政部資助)及綜述所做的一份報告指出:

“依2001至2003年間發表的77篇具系統性評論,現已有證據證明:自然療法以及西方草藥醫學幾乎對每一個身體系統及所有重大疾病都有益處。由此可以得出結論,自然療法和西方草藥醫學使用“工具”是有效的;因此使用自然療法及西方草藥醫學的做法也很可能具有療效。”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 什麼是臨床草藥醫師?

 臨床草藥醫師是:

-       在西方草藥醫學及醫學科學的理念、原則和實踐上訓練有素

-       於認可機構或協會獲得專業大學教育

-       結合常規醫學知識以及對植物醫學的科學性和傳統理解

-       對健康和疾病有全面性的看法

-       評估時將焦點集中在病人身上,而不是疾病本身

-       涉及到根據有效劑量或藥用劑劑量以及使用藥用級草藥開藥方,這藥方可安全用於預防及治療人類疾病或促進健康

-       尋求治療疾病的根本原因

-       為刺激或強化人體的正常功能尋求對策,以幫助身體自行痊癒 

-       在任何時候,朝著建立一個可信賴和治癒的醫病關係努力

-       激發正向及永續的轉變

-       提供營養、生活方式、壓力管理和心理精神方面的諮詢服務

-       保持高水準的專業實踐

-       是具權威性的自然健康信息資源

 諮詢專業認可臨床草藥醫師的好處

 您的臨床醫師: 

-       是一個完全合格的草藥專家;

-       受許多衛生健康機構認可而給予回扣;

-       遵守專業道德守則;

-       保持持續專業教育

 本草療法如何運作?

 在本草療法,取自植物的藥物的選擇是建基於與病人的專業諮詢。如果有需要進一步的評估,也可使用功能測試、醫學檢測和鑑別診斷。選擇的這些草藥是用於刺激或強化人體的正常功能,並因此幫助身體自行痊癒。

臨床草藥醫師處理每一位病人時,都會把他當作一個獨特的個體來做全面的診斷。所配給的草藥,也可能是依病人的特殊需要所選擇的植物組合。草藥處方可能是草藥茶、酊劑、膠囊劑、片劑的形式,也可以是外用的乳液或乳霜。

 咨詢草藥醫師可以預期得到什麼?

 一个完整和全面的諮詢包括:

-       詳細的案例和病史,包括飲食、 生活方式和情感狀態;

-       為個別病患量身定制的處方配藥,帶有明確的劑量指示;

-       關於膳食,壓力管理和生活方式的建議或指導;

-       可以進行化驗,簡單的體檢或通過您的醫生或獨立實驗室做進一步醫療測試;

-       保密(保护病人隐私;

-       專業服務

 治療需要多長時間?

這將完全取決於個人的情況,患者的遵從配合也非常重要。一般上,急性疾病如感冒或流感,幾個小時或在一天之內,可以看到一些好轉的跡象,而慢性疾病則是四至六周。草藥處方尤其適合慢性病。一些如自身免疫性,皮膚疾病等慢性疾病可能需要更長時間的治療。

 草藥安全嗎?

由合格臨床草藥醫師執行的本草療法是非常安全和有效時。鑒於其復雜性,應該配合專業醫師的指導來進行自理的草藥療愈。

在您的全人健康療愈過程中,請選擇與一個以療愈和病人為中心的專業合格臨床草藥醫師,使用安全有效的草藥。不依賴銷售專業人士、互聯網、 櫃台銷售員,或有關草藥促銷和廣告等的建議來獲取有關草藥的信息。如果您對自己的治療有任何問題或疑慮,請咨詢您的臨床草藥醫生。療愈其實是一種伙伴關系。

 可否在遵循自己醫生處方的同時使用草藥?

 臨床草藥醫生受過如何處理醫生處方的訓練,所選擇的草藥配方,可以避免與任何當前的藥物相互作用。並且作定期約見復診來持續觀察您的進展,並做相應的處方調整。

 本草療法適合兒童嗎?

本草療法是一個非常適合,對嬰兒和兒童疾病或一般保健更安全有效的療法。草藥可以緩解症狀和有助於發育變化譬如使免疫系統穩固成熟。因此他們可以讓兒童長期健康受益。它也是支援兒童身體系統發展的一種溫和藥物。

naturopathic Phytotherapy

    

WHAT IS PHYTOTHERAPY?

According to the report World Health Organization (WHO) Traditional Medicine Strategy (20022005), the popular use of complementary medicine such as herbs in many developed countries has been fuelled by concerns over the side effects of chemical drugs, people’s reduced tolerance of paternalism and the assumptions of allopathic medicine, and greater access to health information. The WHO further stated that a longer life expectancy is accompanied by increased risks of chronic diseases such as cancer, diabetes, mental disorders, and heart disease. It acknowledges the essential role of conventional medicine in the care of acute disease and trauma, while highlighting that, in the area of managing chronic disease conditions, conventional medicine can be lacking in efficacy. Complementary medicine, such as herbal medicine, seems to offer a gentle and increasingly relevant means of managing chronic diseases.

Herbal medicine is the oldest and still the most widely used system of medicine in the world today. It is medicine made exclusively from plants. Many modern pharmaceuticals have been modelled on, or derived from chemicals found in plants. For example, the development of Metformin, the most widely prescribed drug for the treatment of diabetes, can be traced back to the use of the herb goat’s rue, which is used even today by herbalists for treating the same condition.

Phytotherapy or medical herbalism, as this is called in Europe, is the most scientifically-validated medicine in the category of natural medicine. It has origins in the European and Greco-Roman traditions, tracing back to prominent physicians, such as Dioscorides, Hippocrates, Galen and St Hildegard of Bingen.

Today Phytotherapy is recognised as modern and science based herbal medicine. It is practiced by medical doctors, naturopaths, and medical herbalists in Germany and many parts of Europe, the United States, New Zealand and Australia.

IS THERE GOOD SCIENTIFIC EVIDENCE?

The foundation of modern medications, chemistry, perfumes, and botany lies in plant medicine. In fact, many synthetic drugs are either derived from plants or are similar to, chemicals found in nature.

In addition, a report based on extensive research (funded by Victoria’s Department of Human Services) and reviews by La Trobe University in Australia stated the following:

A review of 77 systematic reviews published between 2001 and 2003 suggested that there is now evidence of the benefits of naturopathy and Western herbal medicine for almost every body system and all major illnesses. It can be concluded that the tools of the trade of naturopathy and Western herbal medicine can be effective and that the practice of naturopathy and Western herbal medicine is therefore potentially effective

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 WHAT IS A MEDICAL HERBALIST?

 A medical herbalist is:

-       highly trained in the philosophies, principles and practice of Western herbal medicine and medical science

-       has a specialist university education from an accredited institution and association;

-       combines conventional medical knowledge with scientific and traditional understanding of plant medicine;

-       takes a holistic view towards health and diseases;

-       will assess you as a person and not a disease;

-       involves prescribing effective doses of herbal remedies that are of pharmaceutical grade/ dose that are safe for human use in the prevention and treatment of diseases or the promotion of wellness;

-       seeks to treat the underlying cause of disease;

-       works towards stimulating or strengthening the body’s normal functions, and so help the body heal itself; 

-       works at all times, toward creating a trusting and healing relationship with the patient;

-       to inspire positive and lasting changes; 

-       provides nutrition, lifestyle, stress management and psycho-spiritual advise;

-       maintains high standard of professional practice;

-       is an authoritative source of information about natural health.

 BENEFITS OF CONSULTING AN ACCREDITED HERBALIST

 Your practitioner: 

-       is a fully qualified specialist in herbal medicine;

-       is recognised by many health funds for rebates; 

-       abides by a professional Code of Ethics;

-       maintains continuing professional education.

 HOW DOES PHYTOTHERAPY WORKS?

 In phytotherapy, plant medicines are selected based on a professional consultation with the patient. Functional tests, medical tests and differential diagnosis may be used if further assessment is necessary. They are selected to stimulate or strengthen the body’s normal functions, and so assist the body to heal itself.

The medical herbalist approaches each client as a unique individual in making a holistic diagnosis. Any herbal medicine prescribed may be a combination of plants chosen for the specific needs of the patient. Herbs may be prescribed may be in the form of tea, tinctures, capsules, tablet, and a lotion/cream for topical use. 

 WHAT TO EXPECT WHEN CONSULTING A HERBALIST?

 A full and comprehensive consultation including:

-       a detailed case and medical history, including diet, lifestyle and emotional states;

-       individually prescribed and dispensed herbal medicine with clear dosage instructions;

-       dietary, stress management and lifestyle advise or coaching;

-       laboratory tests, simple physical examination may be done or further medical test may be advised via your medical doctor or independent laboratory;

-       confidentiality;

-       professionalism.

 HOW LONG DOES TREATMENT TAKE?

 This will depend completely on the individual and their condition. Patient’s compliance is also very important.

Some improvement in symptoms should be noted within hours to a day for acute conditions such as a cold or flu, or within 4 to 6 weeks for chronic conditions. Chronic problems are particularly well suited to treatment with herbal medicine. Some chronic conditions such as autoimmune, certain skin diseases may need longer duration of treatment.  

 IS HERBAL MEDICINE SAFE?

Phytotherapy is very safe and effective when prescribed by a fully qualified medical herbalist. Self-care with herbs, due to their complexity, should be complemented with professional consultations.

Work with a healing, patient-centred, and qualified medical herbalist in your journey to use herbs safely for total wellness. Do not rely on the advice of sales professionals, the Internet, over-the-counter sales employees, or sales promotion and advertisements for information about herbs. If you have any questions or concerns about your treatment, please consult your medical herbalist. Healing is a partnership. 

 CAN HERBS BE TAKEN ALONGSIDE MY DOCTOR’S PRESCRIPTION?

 Medical herbalists are trained to work with doctor’s prescriptions, so your herbal protocol will be chosen to avoid interaction with any current medication. Follow-up appointments at regular intervals will be made to monitor your progress and adjust the protocol accordingly.

 IS PHYTOTHERAPY SUITABLE FOR CHILDREN?

Phytotherapy is found to be very suitable, safe, and effective for babies and children’s ailments and general health. Herbs can alleviate symptoms and facilitate developmental changes such as the maturation of the immune system. Thus they can benefit the long-term health of the child. It is also a gentle form of medicine that supports their developing body systems.